So yeah, one of the many facets of studying abroad is being immersed in a new and different culture. And I’m all for that, but I still believe that having some non-negotiables is normal and healthy. I wouldn’t say I’m high maintenance, but rather particular with an eye for detail (let’s keep it positive).

In the States, my snack of all snacks is Tillamook Greek yogurt (vanilla bean and strawberry are my favorites, in case you were curious) with flax seeds and chia seeds (both whole, not ground). Many people at home are aware of my borderline strange passion for Tillamook, and naturally when I arrived the first things I looked for at the market were Greek yogurt and my seeds. I knew going into this trip I would have to cut myself off from Tillamook, so I try my best to not think too much about it…

Finding a lesser but acceptable Greek yogurt substitute, along with my flax seeds, was pretty easy. But the chia seeds were just too elusive. I stopped at five markets (I kid you not, I’m very determined), until finally, as I trekked back to my studio feeling a bit defeated, I stopped at a health foods store in Vieux Lyon as a last ditch effort. And there my chia seeds sat, waiting for me on the very top shelf (playing hard to get, I would expect nothing less). They were the last two bags, so price be damned, I scooped them up.

My beloved chia seeds, in all their glory.
My beloved chia seeds, in all their glory.

At Costco, they stock chia seeds in 32-ounce bags for $9.99, but sadly here in France I had to pay €12,70 for 500 grams (17.637 ounces, thank you Google converter). As I talked to the shop owner (in French, yes!), I told him it was interesting how much cheaper chia seeds are in the U.S., and he explained that their popularity in France was just starting to pick up, so production is lower and they’re harder to find.

Nonetheless, I was elated to have found a little piece of home all the way out here in Lyon. I couldn’t contain my excitement, kept rambling as I am now and was able to walk home happily thanks to the burst of energy this great victory provided me. The moral of this long story is that it’s okay to be weirdly attached to certain foods, and that if you’re currently in the U.S. you’re too blessed to have access to chia seeds at such a reasonable price.

The end.

2 thoughts on “and now, a story.

Leave a comment