It’s been four weeks since I landed on this oddly wonderful continent that is Europe, and I cannot believe how fast it’s gone by. I was placed in the upper-intermediate semi-intensive level for my French classes, and have found this title to be wildly understated. My courses meet a total of 26 hours per week (compared to an average 18 hours at Cal Poly), with ten classes meeting once a week for two hours, my eleventh class four hours per week (this one’s in English), and my cooking class that meets once every other week.

The results of our first cooking class: sashimi (raw beef, yikes), duck with peach sauce, and chicken stuffed with chorizo. Yuuuuum.
The results of our first cooking class: sashimi (raw beef, yikes), duck with peach sauce, and chicken stuffed with chorizo. Yuuuuum.

The classes themselves aren’t super difficult, but what is hard is listening in French for up to six hours per day. In the U.S., I often find myself zoning out during class while still being able to mindlessly take notes. The classes are less structured here though, without a lot of guidance in terms of note-taking and course outlines (none of my classes even have a textbook). So basically in France if I ever zone out, I really don’t have much to go on.

Something else that has definitely been an adjustment is just the way things are [un]organized here. Formed lines are practically non-existent and things just move much more slowly than they should (except for the crazy drivers), the lack of efficiency drives me insane.

I like to think I’m organized in the sense that I have a rough idea of what I’ll be doing each day, but am able to change plans around when necessary and just go with it. Regardless, I like knowing what I need to get done and how I can do so. Here however, there are few directions given and somehow you’re expected to just know how things work. While the way of life isn’t necessarily in step with my own, I can appreciate the difference in culture and know that it’s grooming me for life.

I'm happy to report that the French do have a sense of humor.
I’m happy to report French people do have a sense of humor.

I feel like I’ve gotten into a groove though, I know my way around the city pretty well, I’ve gotten the hang of the metro and feel more comfortable with all the independence. It’s only the second week of school and I’ve already had four classes cancelled, so I guess I can’t complain about people being flaky in cases like these when it works so greatly to my benefit.

Given that classes are so tiring, it only makes sense to get away on the weekends, which is exactly what some friends and I did this past weekend. After some difficulties at the train station and a bit (a lot) of swearing, we were finally able to get our tickets and board the train to Geneva on Friday night. And yes, I did make several Geneva/Genovia Princess Diaries references while there, and even sang the Genovian national anthem after dinner one night.

Let me tell you, Switzerland is freakin awesome. It’s beautiful, and there’s so much to do and see, I really wish we had gotten to stay longer. We used Airbnb to book an apartment for the weekend, and it was just a fifteen minute walk from the main hub in the city.

DCIM100GOPROGOPR1486.

Saturday, our day began with coffee and pastries (as most European days do), and of course getting lost on public transportation. After several buses and a tram, we made it up to Mont Salève, which overlooks the whole city and lake. God really did it big there, it’s incredible. We hiked along the mountain for hours and just enjoyed the surreal panoramic views.

The gorge[ous] gorge as we now like to call it.
The gorge[ous] gorge as we now like to call it.
While at the top, we ate lunch and did a lot of spontaneous exploring. It was really nice not to have a schedule or anywhere to be, we could just keep walking as far as we wanted and take it all in. We walked a total of 13.6 miles Saturday (thanks Fitbit!), got to hang out with some cows and even witnessed a double rainbow as it started raining on our way back.

YAAAS.
YAAAS.

Then came Sunday, the day of our departure…sad. Thankfully our train didn’t leave until 7:30 at night, so we had the whole day for tourism and what not. We started with another pastry and coffee breakfast, but this almond croissant (a bear claw as we might say in the U.S.) was no lie the BEST I have ever had, I would not shut up about it (I even brought one back with me). I can still taste the heavenly deliciousness now.

A. Pouly Boulangerie, your pastry has forever changed me.
A. Pouly Boulangerie, your pastry has forever changed me. And yes, I’m that tourist who takes photos of every meal, it’s fine.

From there, we headed to the United Nations (!) which was unfortunately closed, but still an incredible sight to see. You can get anywhere with the bus system there, which I would highly recommend. We got lucky and stumbled upon a giant street food festival, with 20-30 food trucks set up outside selling to the masses…and I mean literal masses. I purchased and inhaled a piadine, which is basically a salad in an Italian flatbread. Geneva itself (food and amenities) is expensive though, so if you’re ever there be prepared to spend more than you might elsewhere.

An obligatory travel-buddies picture.
An obligatory travel-buddies picture at the UN.

We ended our weekend with a boat tour on Lake Geneva, which was just as pretty and touristy as you would imagine. I like playing the tourist though, it gives me an excuse to look weird, which I do a lot. We definitely packed a lot into the two days, but it was incredible to be independent and plan things spontaneously, and just see where the day would take us.

DCIM100GOPROGOPR1703.
Yes Geneva, yes.

One thought on “switzerland, and some other ramblings

Leave a comment